I’m Skipping the Oscars, But…

If you are reading this, you’re not likely going to be attending the 2016 Oscars. In fact, only half of the 6,000 members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will be there because Kodak Theatre has a seating capacity of 3,400.

I know that Will and Jada Pinkett Smith and Spike Lee have begun a movement to get folks to not pay attention to the Oscars because of the lack of diversity but the reality for me is this… I didn’t see most of the films. I don’t go to the movies. I don’t even have a television! I am usually enveloped in the fashions that you can’t really escape if you have any kind of social media account.

But… I want to draw attention to a few things I’ve been thinking about…

Is it realistic for actors like Tyrese Gibson and 50 Cent to ask Chris Rock not to host the Oscars? Isn’t Chris Rock a part of the diversity that the show needs? Would they like for Chris Rock to be replaced by a white man?

b2e918cb544423c4041d0ae3fd010d81d6467c1438e0e2adabbfc6e0636cfae0I didn’t see many of the films but I did see a wonderful documentary about Nina Simone that has been nominated for Best Feature Documentary by Liz Garbus.

Here are a few other nominees that tell stories you may care about…

Best Documentary Short – Body Team 12

Best Documentary Short – Last Day of Freedom

Writing/Origin Screenplay – Straight out of Compton

 

Leave a Reply

