Our Daily Commitment

This evening, my spiritual leader taught about a Christian’s daily commitment. The focal point of his message is that wearing our cross requires us to offer ourselves to the service of the master, no matter the cost. It’s not a matter of submitting to a inferior midget, but the divine plan of God… Which is a plan for salvation, liberty from sin and the pursuit of Holiness.

  
A few quotes from my spiritual leader, Dr. Bennie L. Toliver:

“When you die, you don’t do your own thing.” 

“The cross is intended to put you to death for the glory of God.”

“Everyday there is something you can get rid of! I die daily.”

He doesn’t expect you to wait until your in the glorified body to be like him… If you aren’t like him down here you won’t be like him up there”

“You are the only bible people will read!”

“It costs to committ. It’s not a time of convenience. You don’t do it because it’s convenient. You do it because it’s right.”

Scriptures used for tonight’s teaching:

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it. (‭Luke‬ ‭9‬:‭23-24‬ KJV)

And whosoever doth not bear his cross, and come after me, cannot be my disciple. (‭Luke‬ ‭14‬:‭27‬ KJV)

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. (‭Matthew‬ ‭16‬:‭24‬ KJV)
I protest by your rejoicing which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily. (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭31‬ KJV)

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭20‬ KJV)

Leave a Reply

